Cree en grande.

Copa Sudamericana 2015

Copa Sudamericana 2015

The Copa Sudamericana is the second club competition in South American soccer and is organized by the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL).

The tournament was first held in 2002. 47 teams from the different countries affiliated with CONMEBOL participate in the tournament.  Since 2005 teams from the CONCACAF region (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football) are invited to round out the tournament.

The tournament is held in the second half of the year.  Most teams qualify to the Copa Sudamerica by virtue of their performance in their league championships.

The Sudamericana champion becomes eligible to play in the Recopa Sudamerican against the winner of the Copa Libertadores.  They also qualify to play against the champion of Japan in the Copa Suruga.

The Champions

2002 San Lorenzo (Arg.)
2003 Cienciano (Per.)
2004/05 Boca Juniors (Arg.)
2006 Pachuca (Mex.)
2007 Arsenal (Arg.)
2008 Internacional (Bra.)
2009 Liga Deportiva Universitario (Ecu.)
2010 Independiente (Arg.)
2011 Universidad de Chile (Chi.)
2012 Sao Paulo (Bra.)
2013 Lanus (Arg.)
2014 River Plate (Arg.)